CONCACAF reveals qualification criteria for expanded Champions League in 2024


CONCACAF has unveiled the qualification criteria for the expanded Confederation Champions League from 2024, with MLS clubs to be able to compete for up to nine places in the competition.

The new CCL, first announced last year, will feature 27 clubs competing for the trophy. Of those spots, five will be reserved for MLS teams – the MLS Cup winner, the Supporters’ Shield winner, the opposing conference winner and the next two teams with the highest points total based on the standings. of the Supporters’ Shield.

– MLS on ESPN+: Stream live games, replays (US only)
– You don’t have ESPN? Access immediately

There will also still be a place reserved for the winner of the US Open Cup as well as places for the top three teams in the League Cup, which from 2023 will be expanded to include all MLS and La Liga teams. MX.

Mexican teams will also have six other CCL places reserved – for the winners and runners-up of Apertura and Clausura as well as the next two teams with the highest points total in the Apertura and Clausura competitions.

Two berths – for the champion and the regular season winner – will be awarded to the Canadian Premier League, with one berth continuing to be awarded to the winner of the Canadian Championship.

Another six spots will go to the top performing teams in the newly created Central American Cup and three to the Caribbean Cup.

The winners of the MLS Cup, the League Cup, the Central American Cup and the Caribbean Cup, as well as the winner of the Liga MX Apertura or Clausura with the highest points total will receive a free pass. advance to the knockout stages. a.

The five rounds will follow a knockout format, with the first round, round of 16, quarter-finals and semi-finals played over two home and away matches before a single final.

Next year’s CCL will be the last edition of the current format. The Seattle Sounders are the current champions, having become the first MLS club to win the modern iteration of the competition by beating the Pumas of Liga MX earlier this month.

CCL winners earn a place in the FIFA Club World Cup, although details of upcoming tournaments have yet to be revealed, with FIFA previously announcing plans for an expanded format played every four years before the COVID-19 pandemic put the proposal on hold.


Comments are closed.