Women’s World Cup Qualifying Guide


The qualifying group stage for the 2023 Women’s World Championship, which runs until 6 September 2022, has started. The first matches have taken place this week, and the match resumes on October 21.

The record number of 51 members is divided into six groups of six and six of the five groups, competing for nine consecutive places in the final, and the possibility of competing for the other three European places and one place in the playoffs, with the finals in Australia and New Zealand.

All the games

Vivian Midema was late in the draw between the Netherlands and the Czech Republic in the finalists’ first game of 2019, led by Mark Parsons. UEFA via Getty Images

This is how it works

  • The winners of the nine groups will advance directly to the final, which will be played in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023.
  • Finalists from each group will advance to the playoffs in October 2022.
  • In the playoffs, the three finalists will go straight to the second round of the playoffs as seeds. The six remaining finalists of the first round of the “play-off”, through a match, are entitled to define the three who qualify.
  • The three winners of the first round and the three seeds of the second round will then face each other in a single knockout match defined by draw.
  • The first two playoff winners (based on qualifying and second round playoff results) advance to the final.
  • The other play-off winners will play the interconfederal play-offs in Australia and New Zealand between February 17 and 23, 2023.

Eligibility groups

Group A: Sweden, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia

Group B: Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary and the Faroe Islands

Group C: Netherlands, Iceland, Czech Republic, Belarus and Cyprus

Group D: England, Austria, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg

Pernille Harder set a record in Denmark’s inaugural victoryUEFA via Getty Images

Group E: Denmark, Russia, Bosnia, Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro

Group F: Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia

Group G: Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Republic of Moldova, Lithuania

Group H: Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria

Group I: France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan and Estonia

Team facts

  • Germany wants to repeat the trophies won in 2003 and 2007.
  • Norway is another European country that became world champion in 1995.
  • In 2019, the Netherlands became a finalist.
  • Cyprus is making her qualifying debut for the competition.
  • Luxembourg participates for the first time in a qualifying group stage
  • Participants in the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 from July 6 to 31: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, England (host), Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Norway, Netherlands ( champion), Russia, Sweden.


Norway started with victory over Armenia

Norway started with victory over ArmeniaUEFA via Getty Images

Eligibility group stageSeptember 16-21, 2021
October 21-26, 2021
November 25-30, 2021
February 23, 2022
April 7-12, 2022
June 23-28, 2022
September 1-6, 2022

“Play-off” Dr. UEFA
3-11 October 2022

Last step: continental allocation

Hostess: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5
FAC: 4
Concoff: 4
Coneball: 3
UEFA: 11
“Play-off” between confederations: 3 “Play-off” between confederations

The ten-team tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand from February 17-23, 2023 to determine the three finalists.

Continental allocation
AFC: 2
FAC: 2
Concoff: 2
Conference: 2
OFC: 1

The selections will be divided into three groups, two to three teams and one to four teams, with the seeds defined in the FIFA rankings. The three groups will play in separate knockout matches, with each winner advancing to the final. In the two groups of three, the seeded team will advance directly to the final (after playing a friendly match between Australia or New Zealand) and face the winner of the semi-final between the other two countries. .


Comments are closed.